IMAGES: SIGNS AND PHENOMENA OF TIME

A trans- and interdisciplinary conference at the University of Hamburg

12—14 November 2015

Fog, clouds and ghosts – unstable time-images in photography


Uncanny signs occur in our digital image culture. Shortly after the terroristic attacks of 9/11, images circulated on the web, which proved – in the opinion of some (hilarious) commentators – the appearance of the devil's face in the pixelated smoke clouds around the World Trade Center. The great promise of photography is to give an objective and automatic picture of the world, taken without a potentially faking human hand. But photography's myth of a self inscribing nature provoques a unclear and uncanny photographic ontology of reality itself.
Taking a look at older photographs by Louis Daguerre and Eugène Atget people disappear or only leave ghostly traces due to long exposure times (Janis, 1989).
Indexicality serves as a semiotic ground for photography (Doane, 2002), but indexicality provides a rather temporal and material unstable connection with reality. In good old analog times the indexical grounding of the photographic image consisted in blurry formations of silver in the photographic emulsion. In the digital age, the indexical bond depends on the measurement of light and quantum-mechanical uncertainity principles in the CCD-Chip (Hagen, 2002). To decide if it is „noise or nature“ (Geimer, 2000) that appeares on a photo along its technical processing, a semiotic stabilisation is necessary. The automatic inscription of reality is not self evident but needs a rather variable semiotic grounding.
Ghost photography for example (Stiegler, 2001; Krauss, 1992) makes an aesthetic use of blurry phenomenons and plays with the ambivalent status between reality and fake (Gunning, 2004). In this photographic ontology of the supernatural, photography has different and contrasting functions. Either it reveils a reality invisible to the human eye (photography of energetic invisible fluids) or it induces and documents mediumistic communication with the hereafter (mediumistic photography) (Chéroux, 2004).
Based on the research for my PhD-Project: „Blurring – Technics and aesthetics of the unstable image“, I am going to look on unstable image phenomenons in photography from a media theoretical perspective. I would like to combine these observations and their aesthetical and ontological consequences with time philosophical concepts by Henri Bergson and Alfred N. Whitehead.


Nicolas Oxen (M.A.) works as a research assistant at the chair for Philosophy of audio-visual media (Prof. Dr. Christiane Voss) at the Bauhaus University Weimar. He studied Media Theory at the Bauhaus-University Weimar and at the Université Lumière Lyon 2. His phd-project „Blurring – Technics and aesthetics of the unstable image“ asks for the role of blurred and disturbed images within the developement of technical time-images. Using time- and process philosophy the project tries to develop his very own temporal aesthetics of the technical image.

Uni HH Logo

BILDER: ZEITZEICHEN UND ZEITPHÄNOMENE

Eine trans- und interdisziplinäre Tagung an der Universität Hamburg

12. bis 14. November 2015

Nebel, Wolken, Geister – Instabile Zeit-Bilder in der Fotografie


Inmitten unserer digitalen Bildkultur werden unheimliche Zeichen sichtbar. Kurz nach den Anschlägen vom 11. September 2011 kursiert im Internet ein Bild von den Rauchschwaden des brennenden World Trade Centers. Aufgeregte Kommentatoren glauben in der dunklen, unscharfen Pixelstruktur des Bildes die Fratze des Teufels zu erkennen.
So rational und automatisch die Fotografie seit ihren Anfängen ein objektives Bild der Welt ohne Eingriff durch die menschliche Hand verspricht, so unklar und unheimlich bleibt der ontologische Status der fotografischen Realität.
Schon in den Fotografien von Louis Daguerre und Eugène Atget verschwinden die Menschen oder werden aufgrund der langen Belichtungszeiten zu halbtransparenten Phantomen. Statt einer ontologisch stabilen Wirklichkeit zeigt die Fotografie hier geisterhafte Spuren (Janis, 1989). Indexikalität ist die zeitliche Zeichenlogik (Doane, 2002) der Fotografie. Indexikalität ist in der analogen wie in der digitalen Fotografie ein zeitlicher und tendenziell instabiler materieller Bezug zur Wirklichkeit. Im analogen Zeitalter bestand sie in der wolkigen Formation von Silbersalzen in der Fotoemulsion. Im digitalen Zeitalter liegt sie in quantenmechanischen Unschärferelationen innerhalb des CCD-Chips (Hagen, 2002). Um zu entscheiden, ob es sich bei dem, was auf dem Foto erscheint, um „Noise or Nature“ (Geimer, 2000) handelt, werden Semiotisierungsprozesse notwendig, die den automatischen Einschreibungen der Wirklichkeit keine stabile Zuschreibung von Bedeutung garantieren.
Die Geisterfotografie (Stiegler, 2001; Krauss, 1992) macht von der Unschärfe ästhetischen Gebrauch, der mit der Ambivalenz von Wirklichkeit und Täuschung spielt (Gunning, 2004). Zum anderen bekommt die Unschärfe in der Geisterfotografie die ontologisierende Funktion. Was die Fotografie sichtbar macht, ist entweder eine natürliche aber unsichtbare Wirklichkeit (Fotografie energetischer Fluida) oder eine übernatürliche Existenz (mediumistische Fotografie) (Chéroux, 2004).
Ausgehend von der Recherchearbeit zu meinem Dissertationsprojekt: „Blurring – Technik und Ästhetik des instabilen Bildes“ möchte ich in meinem Beitrag versuchen, instabile Bildphänomene innerhalb fotografischer Diskurse aus einer medientheoretischen Perspektive zu beschreiben und die daraus resultierenden bildästhetischen und bildontologischen Fragestellungen auf zeitphilosophische Konzepte von Henri Bergson und Alfred North Whitehead zu beziehen.


Nicolas Oxen (M.A) arbeitet als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Lehrstuhl für Philosophie audiovisueller Medien (Prof. Dr. Christiane Voss) an der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar. Er studierte Medienwissenschaft an der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar und der Université Lumière Lyon 2. Sein Dissertationsprojekt „Blurring – Technik und Ästhetik des instabilen Bildes“ untersucht die Rolle des unscharfen und gestörten Bildes in der Entwicklung technischer Zeit-Bilder und versucht mit Bezug auf Zeit- und Prozessphilosophien eine eigene temporale Ästhetik des technischen Bildes zu entwickeln.

Uni HH Logo