IMAGES: SIGNS AND PHENOMENA OF TIME

A trans- and interdisciplinary conference at the University of Hamburg

12—14 November 2015

Eugène Atget’s nostalgic sense of Modernity – an anachronistic documentation


Eugène Atget: Archeologist, collector and photographer of the old Paris, these are only some of the titles attributed to the famous personality of Atget and his photographic oeuvre. The works of Atget contain certain temporal tensions, which will be discussed in the following. They reflect the past, the present and the future on different levels and provide a view from contemporary “modernity” into the past, thus preserving it and transferring it to the future. By means of his works it is therefore possible to investigate the construction of the Middle Ages in 19th-century France and its production. A preoccupation with the vanishing past is no singular phenomenon, other artists and writers like Charles Meryon and Charles Baudelaire examined the topic as well.
When Atget is born in 1857, Paris has already been subject to a dynamic process of modernization and transformation for almost five years. As he turns towards photography at the end of the 19th century, he decides to focus on a specific part of the city: medieval Paris. His discussion of time does not only take place on a motivic level, but on a material one. What is significant is not only the fact that he chooses and documents motifs of the past, but rather the way in which he presents and constructs that past. As he uses a large-format camera, it is possible to state that the so-called modern technique of photography – speaking in terms of technical progress – in terms of Atget is also as antique and surpassed as his motifs. The duality of time gets sharper, as the “passed” is presented through a surpassed technique.


Fabian Röderer, born in 1992, studied art history and French philology with an emphasis on literature at the Ruhr-Universität Bochum from 2011 to 2014. Since 2014 he is enrolled in the Art History Master’s Program of the university of Hamburg. Throughout his studies he focused mainly on French 19th-century art history, art criticism, the history of photography, the history of art history as well as the history of the museum as an institution and its development. These interests were further encouraged during an internship in a Parisian art gallery. He completed his bachelor studies with a thesis on Auguste Rodin’s portraits of Rose Beuret.

Uni HH Logo

BILDER: ZEITZEICHEN UND ZEITPHÄNOMENE

Eine trans- und interdisziplinäre Tagung an der Universität Hamburg

12. bis 14. November 2015

Die nostalgische Moderne Eugène Atgets – eine anachronistische Dokumentation


Eugène Atget: Archäologe, Sammler und Fotograf des vieux Paris, dies sind nur einige Titel, welche an die berühmte Persönlichkeit und das fotografische OEuvre Atgets herangetragen wurden. Dem Schaffen und Werk Atgets sind besondere zeitliche Spannungen inhärent, die im Folgenden beleuchtet werden. Das Schaffen Atgets reflektiert auf verschiedensten Ebenen Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft. Es handelt sich um einen Blick aus der gegenwärtigen „Moderne“ in die Vergangenheit, welche dadurch konserviert und in die Zukunft überführt wird. Anhand dieses Werkes lässt sich daher über die werkimmanente Betrachtung des OEuvres hinaus, die Epochenkonstruktion des Mittelalters im 19. Jahrhundert und ihre Inszenierung untersuchen. Die Beschäftigung mit der Vergangenheit und ihrem Verschwinden ist kein singuläres Phänomen, auch andere Künstler und Literaten setzten sich mit dieser Thematik auseinander, so etwa Charles Meryon und Charles Baudelaire.
Als Atget 1857 geboren wird, befindet sich Paris bereits seit fast fünf Jahren in einem dynamischen Prozess der Modernisierung und Transformation. Nachdem er sich gegen Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts endgültig zur Fotografie hinwendet, fokussiert er seinen Blick vorwiegend auf einen bestimmten Teil der Stadt: das mittelalterliche Paris. Doch nicht nur auf motivischer Ebene geht Atget auf die Thematisierung von Zeitlichkeit ein, sondern auch auf materieller. Entscheidend ist hier nicht nur, dass er Motive der Vergangenheit wählt und dokumentiert, sondern auch die Art seiner Inszenierung und Konstruktion dieser Vergangenheit. Durch die Nutzung einer Großformatkamera lässt sich die eigentlich moderne Technik der Fotografie – im Sinne des technischen Fortschritts – in der atget’schen Manier als ebenso antiquiert und überholt beschreiben wie seine Motive. Die Dualität der Zeitlichkeit verschärft sich, indem das "Alte" in einem veralteten Verfahren fotografiert wird.


Fabian Röderer, geboren 1992 studierte von 2011 bis 2014 an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum Kunstgeschichte und Romanische Philologie Französisch, mit einem Schwerpunkt auf Literatur. Seit 2014 studiert er an der Universität Hamburg den Master Kunstgeschichte. Während seines Studiums fokussierte er sich vor Allem auf die französische Kunstgeschichte des 19. Jahrhunderts, Kunstkritik, Geschichte der Fotografie, Geschichte des Faches sowie auf Museumsgeschichte und –entwicklung. Diese Interessen wurden u.a. durch ein Galeriepraktikum in Paris gefördert. Sein Bachelorstudium schloss er mit einer Studie zu Auguste Rodins Portraits von Rose Beuret ab.

Uni HH Logo