IMAGES: SIGNS AND PHENOMENA OF TIME

A trans- and interdisciplinary conference at the University of Hamburg

12—14 November 2015

Body – Image – Time. Medical Imaging in Visual Culture Studies (Bildwissenschaft)


Medical Imaging is closely connected to concepts of time and ideas of the human body. Xray Radiography as well as Computed Tomography and Magnetic Resonance Imaging visualise the internal structures of the body in vivo. The snapshots arising from them represent the current patient condition – the present state from radiological view. However, during the image interpretation (German: Befundung) these are images of a past time, integrated in the concept of a (biological) lifetime which progresses steadily. In spite of the visualisation of a (physical) past the images serve for the judgement of a present situation (diagnosis) as well as a possible future (prognosis) of the visualised body.
The different levels of past, present and future influence the image content in a specific way. The medical experts deal with ‘signs of time’ in the images. On the one hand image phenomena are interpreted as residual of passed disease; besides, a judgement of the same for present or future of the respective body is a diagnostically difficult case. On the other hand the radiologists are confronted with so-called artifacts: An image artifact is a pattern or structure in the image caused by signal distortion. It is, for example, related to the patient’s body movements like respiration or blood flow and unavoidable because of the liveliness of the body. The signs of the past of the body as well as its present liveliness cause problems to the radiological image interpretation and diagnosis.
The reflexion of these problems leads the discipline radiology, its apprenticeship and research to the image analysis and image handling. In the perspective of visual culture studies (Bildwissenschaft) it is noteworthy that radiologists approach the human body via the ‘image’ (the visualisation) and therefore never noticing the body without a mediated form. The radiological literature postulates taking time for the image interpretation or analysis (Befundung) – it almost seems that it demands to ‘linger’ in front of the images. To approaches of visual culture studies this claim is known1 as they consider the relations of producer, recipient and image. In an investigation of medical imaging these relations must be extended by the issue of ‘human bodies’.
In my talk the crux of medical imaging will be regarded by the presentation of X-ray Radiography and Computed Tomography: In radiological reflexions a separation of different temporalities of body and image as well as a sufficient consideration of the medium itself are missing.


Sarah Sandfort completed the master’s program of Art History and Philosophy at the Ruhr-Universität Bochum (RUB) in 2009 and began her PhD thesis: “Bilder ohne Bildlichkeit? Computer- und Magnetresonanztomografie in der Radiologie”. From 2010 to 2013 she obtained a grant from the Cusanuswerk. Since 2009 she is working as freelancer for education and communication at the Museum Folkwang in Essen and since 2014 as assistance to the management at the Institute of Art History (RUB).

Publications
- exp. 2016: Konstruktion der Wirklichkeit. ‚Digitale Bilder‘ in der Radiologie, in: Fotogeschichte. Beiträge zur Geschichte und Ästhetik der Fotografie - 2013: Bildverarbeitung in der Medizin. Ästhetische Aspekte in der Tomographie, in: Ernst Seidl et al. (Ed.): Wie Schönes Wissen schafft, Katalog, Museum der Universität Tübingen (MUT), Tübingen, p228–234. - 2012: with Richard Hoppe-Sailer, Rainer-M.E. Jacobi: Image – Body – Knowledge. An interdisciplinary and critical appraisal of images, in: Heiner Fangerau et al. (Ed.): Medical Imaging and Philosophy. Challenges, reflections and actions, Stuttgart, p152–161.

Uni HH Logo

BILDER: ZEITZEICHEN UND ZEITPHÄNOMENE

Eine trans- und interdisziplinäre Tagung an der Universität Hamburg

12. bis 14. November 2015

Körper – Bild – Zeit. Medizinische Bildgebung aus bildwissenschaftlicher Perspektive


Die medizinische Bildgebung ist in enger Weise mit Konzepten der Zeit und des menschlichen Körpers verknüpft. Röntgentechnik sowie Computer- und Magnetresonanztomografie dienen der Verbildlichung des Körperinneren in vivo. Die daraus hervorgehenden Momentaufnahmen repräsentieren aus radiologischer Sicht den aktuellen Zustand des jeweiligen Patientenkörpers – die Gegenwart. Doch während der Betrachtung (radiologisch: Befundung) sind es Bilder eines vergangenen Zeitpunkts, eingebunden in das Konzept einer Lebenszeit, die stetig voranschreitet. Trotz ihrer Sichtbarmachung einer (körperlichen) Vergangenheit dienen die Bilder der Beurteilung einer gegenwärtigen Situation (Diagnose) sowie einer möglichen Zukunft (Prognose) des verbildlichten Körpers.
Die verschiedenen Ebenen von Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft spielen auch für die Bildinhalte eine besondere Rolle. Die Mediziner/innen beschäftigen sich mit ‚Zeitzeichen‘ in den Aufnahmen selbst. Einerseits finden sich Bildphänomene, die als Residuen schon vergangener Krankheiten gedeutet werden. Eine Beurteilung derselben für Gegenwart oder Zukunft des jeweiligen Körpers ist dabei diagnostisch schwierig. Andererseits werden die Bildbetrachter/innen mit sogenannten Artefakten konfrontiert: Bildfehlern, die u. a. aufgrund von Körperbewegungen wie Atmung oder Blutfluss entstehen und bei der Lebendigkeit des Körpers nicht zu vermeiden sind. Sowohl die Zeichen der Vergangenheit des Körpers als auch seine gegenwärtige Lebendigkeit bereiten der radiologischen Bildinterpretation und Diagnose Probleme.
Die Reflexion dieser Probleme führt die Radiologie, ihre Lehre und Forschung, zur Bildbetrachtung und zum Bildumgang. Aus bildwissenschaftlicher Perspektive ist bemerkenswert, dass sich die Radiologie dem menschlichen Körper immer über das ‚Bild‘ nähert, diesen also nie ‚unvermittelt‘ wahrnimmt. Die Forderung in der radiologischen Fachliteratur lautet, sich für die Bildbetrachtung und -befundung ‚Zeit zu nehmen‘ – fast scheinen sie zu fordern, vor den Bildern zu ‚verweilen‘. Bildwissenschaftlichen Ansätzen ist dieser Anspruch bekannt1, insofern sie die Beziehungen von Produzent, Rezipient und Bild berücksichtigen, die bei einer Untersuchung radiologischer Bildgebung um den Anspruch des Referenten ‚menschlicher Körper‘ erweitert werden muss.
Im Vortrag wird aus bildwissenschaftlicher Perspektive die Crux der radiologischen Bildgebung anhand der Röntgentechnik und Computertomografie vorgestellt: Der radiologischen Reflexion fehlen eine Separierung der verschiedenen Zeitlichkeiten von Körper und Bild sowie eine ausreichende Berücksichtigung des Bildmdediums an sich.


Sarah Sandfort: seit 2014 Assistenz der Geschäftsführung (WHK) am Kunstgeschichtlichen Institut der Ruhr-Universität Bochum (RUB), 2010–2013 Promotionsstipendium des Cusanuswerks (Bischöfliche Studienstiftung), seit 2009 Promotion am Kunstgeschichtlichen Institut der RUB, Thema: „Bilder ohne Bildlichkeit? Computer- und Magnetresonanztomografie in der Radiologie“ (Kunst- und bildwissenschaftliche Analyse), seit 2009 Freie Mitarbeiterin der Bildung und Vermittlung, Museum Folkwang, Essen, 2005–2009 Masterstudium der Kunstgeschichte und Philosophie an der RUB, 2002–2005 Bachelorstudium der Kunstgeschichte und Philosophie an der RUB

Publikationen
- vorauss. 2016: Konstruktion der Wirklichkeit. ‚Digitale Bilder‘ in der Radiologie, in: Fotogeschichte. Beiträge zur Geschichte und Ästhetik der Fotografie
- 2013: Bildverarbeitung in der Medizin. Ästhetische Aspekte in der Tomographie, in: Ernst Seidl et al. (Hg.): Wie Schönes Wissen schafft, Katalog, Museum der Universität Tübingen (MUT), Tübingen, S. 228–234.
- 2012: zus. mit Richard Hoppe-Sailer, Rainer-M.E. Jacobi: Image – Body – Knowledge. An interdisciplinary and critical appraisal of images, in: Heiner Fangerau et al. (Hg.): Medical Imaging and Philosophy. Challenges, reflections and actions, Stuttgart, S. 152–161.

Uni HH Logo