IMAGES: SIGNS AND PHENOMENA OF TIME

A trans- and interdisciplinary conference at the University of Hamburg

12—14 November 2015

Quantitative officiousness or qualitative absent-mindedness? About missionary attempts to translate concepts of time transculturally


Christian missionaries in Africa have no time to lose. They have to get up early. They have to work a lot in a little while in order to reach their target of Christianization. They build churches including bell towers. They argue salvation-historically. They preach about the Paradise and about the Last Judgment. Until then Africans do not need clocks and bells. They meet if it is time. Their afterlife is neither a place in the future nor a kingdom come. Their afterworld is not after a world. It is part of their experiences – a synchronic reality.
Even if both groups of actors in the contact zone called proselytization use different signs of time and believe in different concepts of time, they start to interact and to communicate with each other. They start to appropriate and to translate transculturally. There is no doubt about the fact that they translate time transculturally as well. Concepts of time are transferred, appropriated and translated. But: Which concept of time places first and wins the scrap for the power of meaning? Perhaps a new concept of time is generated?
In my presentation I want to show by examples (using historic photographs by missionaries from the field) on the one hand how Christian missionaries dispute about signs of time and concepts of time with African actors in the contact zone as a third space. On the other hand I want to show what concepts of time Africans have, how they symbolize time and how they try to translate their point of view transculturally. Because time is immaterial, objectivations of time play a significant role in the process of cultural translation between both groups. Time has to become a fact in the discourse. This is only possible if the actors start to think about their conceptualizations of time and their creative power to create time – quantitative and qualitative.


Philipp Seitz studied Cultural Studies, Journalism and History and Culture in Africa at the University of Leipzig. He majored in Philosophy of Culture and Social Philosophy. Since 2011 he studies for a PhD at the Institute of Philosophy at the University of Wuppertal. His project deals with the Philosophy of Symbolic Forms by Ernst Cassirer (1874-1945) and the question how this epistemological approach can be operationalized for empirical Cultural Studies. From 2011 until 2014 he was a scholarship holder by the Cusanuswerk. Since 2012 he is an assistant Lecturer at the Institutes for the Study of Culture and for African Studies at the University of Leipzig. His main research deals with Philosophy of Culture and theory of culture, with Philosophy of Language and Social Philosophy, philosophical anthropology and intercultural philosophy. His dissertation project will be finished in early 2016. Website: http://www.sozphil.uni-leipzig.de/cm/kuwi/mitarbeiter/philipp-seitz/

Uni HH Logo

BILDER: ZEITZEICHEN UND ZEITPHÄNOMENE

Eine trans- und interdisziplinäre Tagung an der Universität Hamburg

12. bis 14. November 2015

Quantitative Zudringlichkeit oder qualitative Selbstvergessenheit? Über missionarische Versuche Zeitkonzepte transkulturell zu übersetzen


Christliche Missionare im südlichen Afrika haben keine Zeit zu verlieren. Sie müssen zeitig aufstehen, weil das Klima ihnen tagsüber zusetzt. Sie müssen in kurzer Zeit sehr viel leisten, um ihr Ziel, die Christianisierung ganzer Bevölkerungsgruppen, erreichen zu können. So installieren sie Turmuhren und bauen Glockentürme. Sie argumentieren heilsgeschichtlich. Sie predigen vom Paradies und vom Jüngsten Gericht. Auf afrikanischer Seite braucht man eigentlich weder Uhren noch Glocken. Man trifft sich, wenn die Zeit reif ist. Das Ahnenreich ist kein Zukunfts- und Heilsort. Das Jenseits ist eine synchrone Wirklichkeit.
Obwohl beide Akteursgemeinschaften unterschiedliche Zeitzeichen verwenden und anderen Zeitauffassungen anhängen, beginnen sie miteinander zu kommunizieren, zu transferieren, wechselseitig anzueignen und kulturell zu übersetzen. Dabei wird zweifelsohne auch über Zeit geredet. Zeitkonzeptionen werden transferiert, angeeignet und kulturell übersetzt. Aber: Welche Zeitkonzeption erringt die Bedeutungshoheit? Entsteht gar eine neue, eine afrikanisch-christliche Zeitkonzeption?
In meinem Vortrag möchte ich anhand von Beispielen aus der Missionsforschung (u. a. mittels Missionsfotografien) zeigen, wie christliche Missionare mit afrikanischen Akteuren um ein Verständnis ihrer Zeitzeichen und Zeitkonzeptionen streiten. Die afrikanischen Gemeinschaften verfügen ihrerseits auch über Konzeptionen von Zeit und eigene Zeichen ihrer Repräsentation. Im wechselseitigen Austausch der beiden Akteursgruppen spielen mythische, religiöse, sprachliche, künstlerische und wissenschaftliche Repräsentationen von Zeit die entscheidenden Rollen. Allein es bleibt die Immaterialität der Anschauung von Zeit bestehen. Umso wichtiger sind Materialisierungen von Zeit, die im Diskurs Zeit als Tatsache erzeugen sollen. Um mittels dieser neuen Tatsachen zu einem gemeinsamen Zeitkonzept zu gelangen, müssen sich die Akteure aber zuerst ihrer eigenen Konzeptionierungen, ihrer schöpferischen Gestaltungskraft von Zeitzeichen und ihrer semiologischen Repräsentationspraxis gewahr werden.


Philipp Seitz hat an der Universität Leipzig Kulturwissenschaften, Journalistik und Kultur und Geschichte in Afrika studiert. Seit 2011 promoviert er über Ernst Cassirers Kulturbegriff und eine mögliche Operationalisierung desselben für die empirischen Kulturwissenschaften am Philosophischen Seminar der Bergischen Universität Wuppertal bei Prof. Dr. Gerald Hartung. Von 2011 bis 2014 war Philipp Seitz Stipendiat der Bischöflichen Studienförderung Cusanuswerk. Seit 2012 ist er Lehrbeauftragter an den Instituten für Kulturwissenschaften und für Afrikanistik der Universität Leipzig. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen in der Kulturphilosophie und -theorie, in der Sprach- und Sozialphilosophie, in der philosophischen Anthropologie und in der interkulturellen Philosophie. Seine Dissertation wird er im ersten Halbjahr 2016 abschließen. Website: http://www.sozphil.uni-leipzig.de/cm/kuwi/mitarbeiter/philipp-seitz/

Uni HH Logo