IMAGES: SIGNS AND PHENOMENA OF TIME

A trans- and interdisciplinary conference at the University of Hamburg

12—14 November 2015

Right to Time. Synthurbanism and Politics of Time in Yugoslav Self-Management


Architecture is about organizing space. And time.
Approaching architectural history as a history of what if, rather than what was; a history of potentialities and ideas, rather than facts and forms, this paper will explore how could the notion of time in architecture be understood as a political category and a design tool.
We will take a closer look into Synthurbanism, or synthetic urbanism, a radical unbuilt project and a theory of the self-managed city, developed by Yugoslav architect Vjenceslav Richter, in 1964. Synthurbanism came out from the particular Cold War context of Yugoslav self-management, a historical project of worker’s autonomy; decentralized economic and political model, positioned between central planning and free market. Starting from the position of everydayness as the time and space in which all life occurs, the project proposes compression of space as a way of extending time. Understanding right to time as a political right of the new urban dweller of the self-managed society, Synthurbanism could be observed as an experiment in thinking collective self-management through the principles of time-management.
Visually, the project proposed a new technique of architectural representation: simultaneous perspective. With showing different fragments of a single spatial unity, with their own vanishing points, simultaneous perspective could be analysed through its symbolic form, as a method of temporalizing space and spatializing time; a way to visually talk about Yugoslav socialist modernity.
Finally, one could ask: is there a specific understanding of time in socialism? Or more particularly, is there a specific understanding of time in self-management, with self-signifying individual or collective awareness and -management signifying the possibility of engaging with, or acting upon this position of awareness? What role does spatial planning have in structuring, disabling or enabling the right to time? And after all, why do we have to re-think all these questions today?


Marija Marić is an architect and a researcher based in Zürich. As a PhD candidate and a research assistant at The Institute for the History and Theory of Architecture (gta) – ETH Zürich, her thesis is part of the ongoing research project Conflicting Identities: Politics of Representation and Counterculture in Yugoslavia during the Cold War, led by Prof. Philip Ursprung.

Uni HH Logo

BILDER: ZEITZEICHEN UND ZEITPHÄNOMENE

Eine trans- und interdisziplinäre Tagung an der Universität Hamburg

12. bis 14. November 2015

Recht auf Zeit. Synthurbanismus und Politiken der Zeit in der jugoslawischen Selbstverwaltung


Architektur ist die Organisation von Raum. Und Zeit.
In einem Zugriff auf die Geschichte der Architektur als Geschichte eines Was wäre wenn anstatt eines Was war, einer Geschichte der Möglichkeiten und Ideen anstatt einer der Fakten und Formen, wird dieser Vortrag untersuchen, wie Begriffe von Zeit in der Architektur als politische Kategorie und Werkzeug des Design verstanden werden können.
Insbesondere wird der Synthurbanismus oder synthetische Urbanismus in den Blick genommen, ein radikales unverwirklichtes Projekt und eine Theorie der selbstverwalteten Stadt, die 1964 von dem jugoslawischen Architekten Vjenceslav Richter entwickelt wurde. Der Synthurbanismus entwickelte sich im spezifischen Kontext des Kalten Krieges und der jugoslawischen Selbstverwaltung als ein historisches Projekt der Autonomie des Arbeiters; ein dezentralisiertes ökonomisches und politisches Modell, das zwischen Plan- und freier Marktwirtschaft positioniert war. Ausgehend von der Alltäglichkeit von Raum und Zeit, in der sich das Leben abspielt, ging es diesem Projekt darum, durch eine Kompression des Raumes die Zeit auszudehnen. Das Recht auf Zeit als ein politisches Recht der neuen städtischen Bewohner der selbstverwalteten Gesellschaft verstehend, kann derSynthurbanismus als ein Experiment der kollektiven Selbstverwaltung aufgrund der Prinzipien des Zeitmanagements verstanden werden.
In visueller Hinsicht beabsichtigte das Projekt eine neue Technik der architektonischen Repräsentation: die simultane Perspektive. Indem verschiedene Fragmente einer einzelnen räumlichen Einheit mit ihren eigenen Fluchtpunkten gezeigt werden, könnte die simultane Perspektive durch die symbolische Form analysiert werden, einer Methode, die den Raum verzeitlicht und die Zeit verräumlicht; eine Form des visuellen Gesprächs über die jugoslawische sozialistische Moderne.
Ferner kann gefragt werden, ob es ein spezifisches Verständnis von Zeit im Sozialismus gibt, oder insbesondere, ob es ein spezifisches Verständnis von Zeit im Rahmen der Selbstverwaltung gibt. Welche Rolle spielt die räumliche Planung in der Strukturierung in der Außer- oder Inkraftsetzung des Rechts auf Zeit? Und schlussendlich: Warum müssen wir über diese Fragen heute erneut nachdenken?


Marija Marić ist Architektin und Forscherin in Zürich. Sie ist Doktorandin und Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Institut für Geschichte und Theorie der Architektur (gta) – ETH Zürich, und ihr Dissertationsvorhaben Conflicting Identities: Politics of Representation and Counterculture in Yugoslavia during the Cold War ist Teil eines laufenden Forschungsprojektes unter der Leitung von Prof. Philip Ursprung.

Uni HH Logo