IMAGES: SIGNS AND PHENOMENA OF TIME

A trans- and interdisciplinary conference at the University of Hamburg

12—14 November 2015

Temporalis Aeternitas: early modern Prints, Time and Memory


‘Nec sepulcra legens vereor ne perdam memoriam.’ So reads the inscription added to Giovanni Benedetto Castiglione’s etching Temporalis Aeternitas, dated 1645. The Latin phrase, engraved on the plate probably under the initiative of its publisher, Giovanni Domenico De Rossi, is clearly addressed to the beholder. This learned quote, traceable to a classical source, actively engages with the imagery of Castiglione’s inventive composition while also inviting further speculation on the themes evoked; namely, the uncertainty about the nature of time and man’s relationship to time, eternity and memory.
In the print, four men and a young boy are shown in a ruined cemetery, gathered by a tomb inscribed TEMPORALIS AETERNITAS 1645. The scene, taking place in a nocturnal setting, is pervaded by a solemn mood. Both its iconography and its visual qualities imbue Temporalis Aeternitas with a sense of mystery. The Genoese artist’s penchant for technical virtuosity is combined with strategies aimed at captivating the beholder. Consequently, the viewer’s experience of looking at the print seems to parallel the very act of deciphering the carved inscription, being performed by the protagonists of the scene.
Departing from previous interpretations, which have focused on the issues of transience and time’s destructive power, I will argue that the work’s core theme is that of memory – connected to man’s place within the course of time – specifically within the framework of Counter Reformation Italy. Castiglione’s invention can be convincingly connected to the erudite interest generated by Antonio Bosio’s survey of the early Christian catacombs, Roma Sotterranea, as well as to specific Jesuit texts. This lecture will thus offer an interdisciplinary investigation of Castiglione’s print, and of a closely connected body of work, and contribute to our understanding of early modern conceptions and experiences of time as reflected in artistic artifacts.


Anita V. Sganzerla

Uni HH Logo

BILDER: ZEITZEICHEN UND ZEITPHÄNOMENE

Eine trans- und interdisziplinäre Tagung an der Universität Hamburg

12. bis 14. November 2015

Temporalis Aeternitas: frühneuzeitliche Drucke, Zeit und Erinnerung


‘Nec sepulcra legens vereor ne perdam memoriam.’ lautet die Giovanni Benedetto Castigliones Stich Temporalis Aeternitas (1645) hinzugefügte Inschrift. Die lateinische Phrase, die vermutlich auf Veranlassung des Herausgebers, Giovanni Domenico De Rossi, auf die Platte graviert wurde, richtet sich eindeutig an den Betrachter. Das gelehrsame Zitat, das sich auf eine klassische Quelle zurückführen lässt, interagiert aktiv mit Castigliones einfallsreicher bildlicher Darstellung und lädt zu weiteren Spekulationen über die evozierten Themen ein; insbesondere hinsichtlich der Unsicherheit über die Natur der Zeit und die Beziehung des Menschen zu Zeit, Ewigkeit und Erinnerung.
Der Druck zeigt vier Männer und einen Jungen auf einem ruinenhaften Friedhof, die sich um ein Grabmal mit der Inschrift TEMPORALIS AETERNITAS 1645 versammeln. Die nächtliche Szene wird von einer feierlichen Stimmung getragen. Ikonographie und visuelle Qualitäten verleihen Temporalis Aeternitas einen Hauch des Rätselhaften. Die Vorliebe des genuesischen Künstlers für technische Virtuosität ist mit Strategien kombiniert, die den Betrachter einfangen. Die Seherfahrung des Betrachters vor dem Druck und der Versuch, die Inschrift zu entziffern, scheint die Handlungen der Protagonisten der Szene zu parallelisieren.
In Abweichung von vorangegangenen Interpretationen, die sich Fragen der Vergänglichkeit und der zerstörerischen Kraft der Zeit zugewendet haben, werde ich ausführen, dass das Kernthema dieses Werks die Erinnerung ist – verbunden mit dem Platz des Menschen im Lauf der Zeiten – hier insbesondere im Kontext der Gegenreformation in Italien. Castigliones Komposition kann überzeugend mit dem Bildungsinteresse in Verbindung gebracht werden, das von Antonio Bosios Untersuchung der frühchristlichen Katakomben Roma Sotterranea und bestimmten jesuitischen Texten ausgelöst wurde. Dieser Vortrag betrachtet Castigliones Druck und eng verbundene Werke interdisziplinär und leistet einen Beitrag zum Verständnis frühneuzeitlicher Konzepte und Erfahrungen von Zeit, wie sie in künstlerischen Artefakten reflektiert werden.


Anita V. Sganzerla

Uni HH Logo